S’mores Cookies (for the soul)

“I count myself in nothing else so happy
As in a soul remembering my good friends.”
Richard II 2.3.46-7

Image

Well, it’s been almost a year since my last post and I don’t exactly have a great explanation for that. I have been in grad school this past year, which did end up taking more of my time than I ever thought it could. I have learned so much over the past few months, and maybe some of that will makes its way into these blog posts here, but for now this is mostly about baking.

Image

While I haven’t been blogging about my baking, I have been baking! Not as much as I used to, and definitely not as much as I would have liked, but I did bake. I also took pictures with the intention of updating this blog much sooner, but you know what they say about good intentions. Anyway, since it is (again) summer, I will try to post some of the recipes I made during the school year and will try to capture my feelings about each recipe and the surrounding circumstances and the experiences as much as I can.

These cookies were made to be comforting. I have a tendency to bake when I get stressed. Anyone who knows me mostly has heard about and enjoyed the results from my adventures in “stress-baking.” In October last year, when the leaves were turning beautiful shades of golden yellow, fiery orange, and deep crimson, I was in the midst of trying to stay above my workload (teaching, grading, writing papers, researching, and reading—always reading) and missing my friends from undergrad so much it hurt to breathe in the dry, mountain air for once. Autumn in Oregon, while rainy, was incredibly beautiful. While Colorado’s trees turn mostly yellow and orange, with a few reds here and there, Oregon’s trees (especially the ones on my campus) were the most beautiful crimson, scarlet, and burgundy I have ever seen; the maple trees were always my favorite.

When the leaves that have fallen lay on the sidewalk and it rains (as it always does in Oregon in the Fall), the color and shape of the leaf is painted on the sidewalk. I found myself missing these imprints as I was walking to and from campus this past year, and missing the person I used to talk to them about. My best friend from college, my Brainmate, is a poet (among many other wonderful things) and I am sure she could put this better than I ever could. It is her I miss the most from Oregon and it was her that I was thinking of that afternoon as I made these cookies. I am not sure why, I don’t think she is particularly interested in s’mores themed baked goods, nor would she have been able to eat them because they have flour in them, but I’ve never been all that logical anyway. All that aside, I needed some comfort and I needed to stress bake, so I made these.

Image

These are fun to make (seriously, what’s more fun than making a S’mores cookie?) and delicious. I can tell you that I ate a fair amount of the raw cookie dough while waiting for each batch to bake. I started out just trying the dough—you know, for quality assurance purposes—and couldn’t stop after just one bite. The graham crackers really do add a wonderful flavor to both the dough and the finished cookies. I like to eat the right out of the oven with an icy cold glass of milk, but they taste pretty good the next day, too. I would suggest heating them up in the microwave for about 8-10 seconds or so as these cookies are best when the marshmallow is gooey and the chocolate chips are melted.

 Image

Gooey S’mores Cookies

Recipe adapted from Kevin & Amanda

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/3 cups flour
3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (7 full graham cracker sheets)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup Jet Puffed Mallow Bits

 

1)   Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and spray with cooking spray.

2)   Using a mixer, cream the butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and beat for an additional 2 minutes.

3)   Meanwhile, use a food processor or blender to crush 7 graham cracker sheets into 3/4 cup fine crumbs. In a separate bowl, whisk together the graham cracker crumbs, flour, baking powder, and salt.

4)   Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and mix on low speed until the dough just comes together. Add the chocolate and marshmallows and stir to combine.

5)   Place 1.5 tablespoon sized scoops of dough onto the prepared cookie sheet.

6)   Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Makes 2 dozen cookies (or more depending on how big or small you make your scoops of dough—I made 3 dozen cookies in this batch) 

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “S’mores Cookies (for the soul)

  1. Finally, another post! The wait was definitely worth it. The picture at the end is just beautiful. The light streaming through the window on to the cookie is perfect. Keep up the great work. More! More!

Leave a Reply

